Karma: Yours and Theirs

This quote has become my motto over the last month or so. Since coming to the Path and committing to following the Dharma, I have been really working at not reacting negatively to the people in my life who try to bring me down and hurt me at every turn. I can’t control others. I know that now. I don’t even want to control others. I can only control myself. So when others hurt me, I can make the decision to respond with careful thought or not at all. How others treat me in this life is their karma. How I choose to respond, if I even choose to respond, is my own. And I should always choose to respond with compassion and respect.

Leave a Reply

