My Favorite Mantra


I must repeat these words to myself a dozen times a day. “No mud, lotus.” I have a tendency to want to duck and run when life gets tough. I have a tendency to feel stuck in my past, and that feeling oftentimes can pull me down quite low. In those moments I remind myself, over and over, “No mud, no lotus.”

I can’t have the good times without the bad. I can’t have the flower without the mud. I can’t grow without some resistance. It’s the resistance that sits me down on my cushion every day and prompts me to meditate. If there was no mud, there would be no reason to practice at all.

And in those moments when life is going perfectly well, still I remind myself, over and over, “No mud, no lotus”. All the bad times in my life, all the muddy times, have brought me to this moment right now; have brought me one step closer to blooming into the lotus I was meant to be all along. In those moments, when my life seemingly couldn’t be any better, I close my eyes and whisper to myself,

“No mud, no lotus.”

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Mantra

Leave a Reply

